Review: Safeword Rainbow by Candace Blevins

Safeword Rainbow

Goodreads

Amazon

mandy

4 out of 5

WOW! I read the first 2 chapters and was so hot and squirmy that I needed a shower to cool down. And then I flipped to chapter 3 and fell out of my seat as time had passed and I wanted more from the first two chapters. But never fear, this book delivers the kink in spades and a great story to go with it.

I am not going to rehash the storyline or give you spoilers, but Candace Blevins has written a book that takes the kink in the bedroom and explores how a couple with different ideas but an overlapping kink make it work outside the “bedroom”. Her characters were mature, believable, and relatable. The whole book has a great flow and the perfect mix of story with my smut. I will be reading anything I can from Candace Blevins and I am honored that she sought out Raw Books to review the new extended version of Safeword Rainbow for her.

And please take me seriously when I tell you that this book is not for the faint of heart. Very intense BDSM scenes in this book and a whole lot of power exchange. The writing is flawless and brilliant but it is kinky and descriptive. If kink is your thing, go one click that bitch. If you are on the fence, take heed of my warnings as I will be pissed if you go read this and give it a poor rating because your sensibilities have been offended. Candace Blevins delivers kink with a story and it is exactly what I needed!

lorraine

2 out of 5

Safeword Rainbow is definitely not for the faint of heart.  There are some extremely intense BDSM scenes.  Sounds hot, right?  Normally, I’d agree.  I read the dirtiest of the dirty (ask Mandy, I’m pretty sure my Kindle archive shocked her), and enjoy every second of it.  The scenes in this were not the most intense I’ve ever read, but some left me a little uncomfortable, and that is not something easy to do.  The overall story itself was good and the book had potential to be great.  My issue is primarily the fact that most of the time Vivian did not seem to be enjoying what Tyler was doing to her, and it seemed to me that he enjoyed the fact that she wasn’t.  Most of Vivian’s thoughts revolved around her fighting the urge to safeword out of the scene, and there were a few times I wish she had.  To each his own if you like it like that, it just didn’t seem like she did, and he knew it.  I’m definitely no expert as I’ve never gone this deep in play, so please know that if you like the more extreme side of BDSM, you will most likely love this one.

 

Jody

 

DNF

Note to the BDSM novice readers out there, this is not a book I would recommend as your introduction in to the BDSM life style.  This book starts out with some heavy BDSM scenes before leading into any kind of story telling for readers like me.  I like a book to wine and dine me before getting down and dirty but this book was down and dirty from the beginning.

While I enjoy the thoughts of being tied up and at the mercy of a Dom, I am very green when it comes to the understanding of the thoughts of how someone would enjoy being hurt so bad you cried during a scene and have residual marks left for days or even weeks.

I enjoyed the serendipity the writer shows of Vivian and Tyler meeting years later and still having that connection that makes you want to continue a relationship, but I felt this story was overall left undeveloped and lacking.

While I did not finish this book, I do feel a little more knowledgeable about the workings of this world.

 

Synopsisbutton

Tyler and Viv have found each other again after a three day fling three years ago. Ideally suited for each other, they try to make a relationship work. However, they soon realize Tyler was expecting a 24/7 total power exchange and Vivian will never be a 24/7 submissive. As they try to find a compromise, Vivian must deal with what a Total Power Exchange means, even if it’s only a part time power exchange, and Tyler must decide if he can live with a sometimes-Master and sometimes-boyfriend relationship.
Will they find their pot of gold at the end of the rainbow?
This title was published in 2010 with less than half of the current content. The story has been considerably rewritten and contains a great deal of new material for your reading enjoyment. We think it’s a far better story now, but if you read the original, you can be the judge!
Warning: Contains graphic language, consensual BDSM, bondage, and the use of toys including clamps, canes, plugs, paddles, and floggers.

StalktheAuthorbutton

Goodreads | Website | Twitter

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 Stars, ARC, BDSM Romance, Contemporary, Dirty Books, Erotica, Indie Authors, Mandy, Recommendations, Review, Standalone

Thoughts, opinions, recommendations?

