Blog Tour: Review & Giveaway- Storm by Nina Levine

Amazon

lorraine

3.5 out 5

The first half of Storm, I thought this was going to go into my take or leave pile.  There was a lot of build up that had potential to go in numerous directions and I didn’t want to get my hopes up that it would go the way of drama and angst that I have come to expect from an MC novel.  The second half of Storm made up for any of my concerns that the plot would fizzle out.  The story took some cool twists and I realized what I had originally thought of as a slow lead in was vital background to the plot.

Madison and J: very hot together.  I kept picturing that is yelling and throwing things at each other, one slaps the other, and then they grab each other and start kissing each other.  Well, in Madison and J’ case, they have hot sex against the wall.   This combo is done quite often, but also just as often misses the mark.  Nina Levine nailed it.

A well done debut from Nina Levine and well worth a read if you are an MC fanatic.  Looks like this is going to be the first in a series that is going into my TBR.  I even wouldn’t mind if she did a prequel novella to give a little more to Madison and J’s history that led to the beginning of this.  I would tell you to ignore the cover though.  It’s a beautiful drawing that would actually look great in a frame on my wall, but it’s a little Rebel Without A Cause, not that that is a bad thing, just not the best fit here.

mandy

4 out of 5

Bravo. Another debut author with amazing storytelling skills.  And she writes about hot bikers! Nina Levine’s debut novel, Storm, is the first book in the Storm MC series and I look forward to seeing where she takes the club and its members. This first book brought Madison, the club president’s daughter home for protection from club dealings and the love story that plays out is not an easy one. Madison and J have real communication issues and a history that is not pretty or full of hearts and flowers. Their love story is filled with fights, heartbreak and death. Madison has a tough time handling things but as time progresses; we see her character do a lot of growing. J is the typical hot biker with alpha tendencies, but he has a sweet side for Madison. The rest of the cast are real and interesting enough that I have a couple players that I hope to see in future installments- Madison’s BFF and club member, Nash, are just a couple. And Scott, Madison’s brother, should also be in that list. And Blade. Oh, who am I kidding, I want more from Nina Levine and the Storm MC.

Nina Levine has a wonderful writing style and I love that her characters, regardless of being rough and gritty bikers or old ladies, speak with a semblance of intelligence. I enjoy swearing and I have the dirty mouth to prove it, but I appreciate that Nina didn’t write about another MC with an array of legit businesses and an inability to speak above a fifth grade vocabulary. This book is smart and the characters are more mature (late twenties, early thirties). But don’t let me discount the Storm MC bikers.  They’re bikers through and through and the book has its share of swearing and plenty of bloodshed. Storm is well written, perfectly paced, and loaded with super hot sex scenes.  I guess what I’m trying to get across is that you should read Storm. It’s a must read.

Synopsisbutton

 
Life can be a bitch but love can get you through any storm.
 
Madison Cole’s family is the Storm Motorcycle Club. Her father is the President and her brother is the VP. She grew up surrounded by bikers, crime and violence. Two years ago she walked away from her family and the world they live in. Her soul was shattered, her heart was broken and she had an addiction she couldn’t shake. She picked up the pieces and put herself back together. Now her family wants her back. The club is being threatened and they send a club member to return her home to safety; the one person that could destroy everything she has worked so hard to build.
 
Jason Reilly has sacrificed a lot for the motorcycle club he calls family. Two years ago he made the biggest sacrifice of all; he gave up the woman he loved for them. Now he is being sent to bring her back and he is conflicted. He thought he was over her but discovers their connection is as strong as ever. Their love was all-consuming, passionate and fiery. It was also their undoing and he doesn’t know if either of them is strong enough to battle the demons that ripped them apart, to find love again. 
 
Madison and Jason are brought back together by a force out of their control; one that pushes them to a breaking point. Can they overcome their past and discover a love worth fighting for or will the harsh reality of their world finally and completely break them both?
 
 
 
 
excerpt
 
I grabbed my purse and headed outside to go and buy lunch.
J was on the phone, but saw me come outside and signalled for me to wait.
“I’m going to buy lunch, J.  And I only get an hour so I don’t have time to wait for you,” I said, tersely.  He kept talking and scowled at me.  I turned and started to walk away from him, towards the cafe where I always bought lunch.I could hear him muttering something into the phone and then he must have ended his call because he went silent. Then, he barked,“Madison!”
The last thingI wanted to do was stop for him, but there was something in his tone; a ‘don’t fuck with me’ command.  So I stopped, and turned around to look at him.  Oh, my.  He was shitty. He stalked to where I was and got in my face. 
“Why the fuck do you have to be so difficult about this?” He was fuming. Well, I could see him, and raise him in his anger.
“Maybe it has something to do with the way Scott has gone about this.  And the fact that he sent you!”
He flinched.  It was only for a second, and most people wouldn’t have even noticed it. But I knew J, and I saw it.  It
surprised the fuck out of me. 
“Well then, it looks like we’ve got some shit to sort out, babe, because I’m not going anywhere.”
“I don’t want to sort shit out with you.  That ship sailed two fucking years ago, J,” I spat.
He gripped my arm, pulling me closer, “No, it fucking didn’t,” he growled, eyes blazing, “And you can’t deny there’s still something here.I feel it and I know you feel it too.”
I laughed.  No, actually, I cackled.  “You wanna fuck, J?  I can feel that, and, yeah, if you wanna go there, I’m all for it.  But don’t mistake my desire for your cock for anything else.”
 
 
 
 
 
StalktheAuthorbutton
 
Nina Levine is an Aussie writer who writes stories about hot, alpha men and the tough, independent women they love. You won’t find any whiny, spineless women in Nina’s books and you certainly won’t find weak men. 

A warning though, you will find hot, dirty sex, lots of swearing, occasional violent encounters and men and women who live fast and love hard.

Nina’s debut book Storm will be releasing in November 2013. It is based around the Storm Motorcycle Club and is the first book in an MC series.
 
 
Giveaway
 
Leave a comment

Filed under 3.5 Stars, 4 Stars, Bikers & MCs, Blog Tour, Debut Novels, Giveaway, Indie Authors, Lorraine, Mandy, Review, Uncategorized

Thoughts, opinions, recommendations?

