Review: Reckless by Skye Jordan

RecklessBookCover

Goodreads

Amazon

mandy

4 out of 5

First of all- when I found an email from Skye Jordan in my inbox, I had a bit of a fan girl moment. I mean, she’s on the New York Times Bestseller list and she emailed me- Mandy, book pimp and reviewer. So of course I agreed to provide a raw review in exchange for her book, Reckless, and I dove in as quick as my busy schedule would allow.  Skye was nice enough to let me take my time with reviewing since the Raw Books calendar has been slammed full. And needless to say, once I started reading, I didn’t put it down until I was done. Really.

Jax and Lexi are my new favorite couple. They are perfect for one another and their love story was equal parts sweet and sexy. Reckless is the first book in the Renegades series. Seeing as Jax’s company is called Renegades, I am assuming that future books will feature other Hollywood stuntmen. Can you say, yummy? This book has everything- great characters all around, terrific dialogue, off the charts chemistry, great pace, and a happy ending.

I love Skye’s writing style. It’s very dynamic and upbeat, if that makes sense.  The words have a great flow and I found myself smiling frequently while reading because Reckless reads so well.  The book feels polished. From the characters and storyline, to the pace and dialogue, straight on through to the editing; this book is perfectly done.  I am so glad to have had a chance to read this one! And I strongly urge you to read it, too!

lorraine

4 out of 5

Reckless was a light and sexy read.  The chemistry between Lexi and Jax sizzled right from the start.  The story premise of sweet girl meets bad boy is not new, but Skye Jordan did a great job putting her own spin on it.  Lexi and Jax’s first contact at the airport was unique and clever, followed up with some very steamy moments at a hotel.  Now, I don’t often go for the one night stand turns into true love gig.  It too often comes off rushed and the circumstances border on ridiculous.  Not the case here.  There was a great flow to the timing of everything, and it was easy to see how lust and attraction could grow to something more.  Of course, none of that came without the perfect storm of miscommunications and misunderstandings to get in the way.  Overall, I finished reading Reckless with a smile on my face and feeling completely satisfied.  A great debut novel from Skye Jordan, and I’m very much looking forward to reading more from her, whether it be the next in this series or an entirely separate series.

Synopsisbutton

A couture wedding dress designer to the rich and famous, Lexi LaCroix’s image means everything. But crossing paths with a sexier-than-sin, bad-boy biker makes Lexi realize how much living she’s sacrificed for her success and one touch is all it takes to threaten her carefully choreographed life. When that touch fills far more than just Lexi’s physical needs, she finds herself torn between the career she needs and the bad-boy she craves.

Jax Chamberlin gave up the superficial life of acting for the thrill of running his own stunt company years ago. But a recent betrayal proves he’s still too close to the limelight to find a woman who doesn’t plan to use him as a stepping-stone to success. When the charming and mysterious Lexi offers him a totally anonymous hook-up during an out of town trip, Jax accepts. Only Lexi is more sextacular than charming, and Jax wants more.

But Lexi’s got a major hang-up over his renegade lifestyle, and Jax isn’t willing to change his ways. Especially not when he discovers who she really is. Because if she finds out his connections could catapult her to the top of her career, he’s afraid the fantasy woman he’s falling for might just end up like all the other gold-diggers. And this time, it’s not just his bad-boy reputation at risk, but his heart, too.

StalktheAuthorbutton

Website

Goodreads

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 Stars, Alpha Men, Indie Authors, Lorraine, Mandy, Review

Thoughts, opinions, recommendations?

