Review: Punished Into Submission by Holly Carter

Punished Into Submission cover

Goodreads

Amazon

lorraine

1 out of 5

This was a very disappointing read.  First off, the grammatical errors alone were extremely distracting, especially the misuse of the comma.  Add into that the completely wrong words used…well, let’s just say this book needed some serious editing.  I can deal with a few mistakes that are missed in the writing process, you can usually tell when that is the case.

Putting aside these issues, I have a few other issues with this book.  I have to admit, using the seven deadly sins in a BDSM setting was quite clever, and I was intrigued.  Too bad that the author didn’t research what the seven sins are.  Last time I checked, Patience was one of the seven virtues.

Now, I am not naïve enough to believe that excessive drinking is not involved in the BDSM community.  However, I do know that it is frowned upon, not glorified.  I do also know that subspace is not achieved by simply willing it.  Those two things, along with numerous inconsistencies in some of the scenes in this book lead me to believe that there is a chance that this author doesn’t know anything about the BDSM community, which I am okay with.  What I am not okay with, is that it seems that there was no research into the lifestyle done, and that is quite frankly disrespectful to that lifestyle.  I don’t by any means claim to be an expert, but I’m also not out there writing a book about it.

To top it all off, this book has a cliffhanger, but I’m sorry to say that I have no interest in finding out where this story goes next.

mandy

2.5 out of 5

I really wanted to enjoy this book. The synopsis had me intrigued and knowing that it was going to be the first in a series had me excited for a new “BDSM club” series. I already have so many favorites from this type that I thought for sure, this would be great. Unfortunately, this book was a mess.  The bones of a great story were there and some of the sexy times were, in fact, sexy.  And the cast of characters had potential, but that is about all it had. There were so many typos, editing errors, misusage of commas or the lack thereof, and names left uncapitalized that I just couldn’t take things very seriously.  And the main character is all over the place.  She wants to leave, she is drawn to him. One minute she hates him and then she is upset because she doesn’t want to be without him.  And they never really had any heart to heart, getting to know each other time together.  Hunter is either away, busy with something else, or fucking her/ fucking with her.

And I am still confused about whether Kat is a victim of sexual slavery or just goes along with whoever claims to have a hold on her.  She goes from one club to another and seems to have no home outside of the clubs or a job for that matter.  It was all just too confusing and I couldn’t get a handle on Kat’s back story to really root for her or not.

I applaud anyone who has the guts to put a book out there, but in order for me to love a book and want to recommend it to others, the book needs to have more than a scattered plot line and unbelievable characters.  And I can overlook minor typos, but to be taken seriously, I expect authors to take the time to have a book edited and proofed by multiple readers before it is released to the masses.

Synopsisbutton

“Growing up with a drug dealer and a whore was never easy. I saw things that a child should never see. I felt things as a teenager that one should never feel and there are things that I heard that one should never hear. I was grateful when Sailor saved my life.”

Kat was determined to get away and become someone else after her tragic childhood. Become someone people would fear. Become invincible. Incredible. Painful. Harmful. Playful. Dangerous……..

When Kat breaks the law in her adopted club, she is sent to trial where the jury demands obedience, training, and a punishment she will never forget. They force her to become a submissive to none other than Hunter Ford, Master of Masters and Mistresses Palace, the most notorious BDSM club in the city.

Hunter is wanted by all and feared by many. He’s dark, dangerous, and sexy as sin. He’s the master. When he is handed a Switch to play with and teach, he thinks life couldn’t get much easier. How wrong he was. His life was about to get explosive.

Hunter has thirty days to make Kat obey him, respect him, want him, and kneel to him. Hunter’s methods are savage, sexy, and mind blowing. The feelings between this Dom and sub are never meant to be anything more than pleasure and pain. But when you mix pleasure, lies, and an earth shattering need there are arousing yet devastating consequences.

Will Hunter let his guard down? Can the Master be mastered? Or, will Kat give up control after her moment of clarity? Can Hunter succeed and punish her into submission?

StalktheAuthorbutton

Goodreads | Facebook 

Leave a comment

Filed under 1 star, 2.5 stars, ARC, BDSM Romance, Debut Novels, Indie Authors, Lorraine, Mandy, Review

Thoughts, opinions, recommendations?

