Review: Welcome to Sugartown by Carmen Jenner

Welcome to SugartownSynopsis

Ana Belle never wanted anything more than to hang up her apron, jump on her Vespa and ride off into the sunset, leaving Sugartown in the dust.

Elijah Cade never wanted anything more than a hot meal, a side of hot arse and a soft place to lay his head at night where he could forget about his past.

But you know what they say about wanting: you always want what you can’t have.

Nineteen year-old virgin Ana is about to discover that’s not quite true because a six foot three, hotter than hell, tattooed, Aussie sex god just rode into town. He’s had a taste of her pie and he wants more– no really, Ana bakes pies for a living, get your mind out of the gutter.

She’d be willing to hand over everything tied up in a big red bow, there’s just one problem; Elijah has secrets dirtier than last week’s underwear. Secrets that won’t just break Ana’s heart, but put her life at risk, too. When those secrets come to light, their relationship is pushed to breaking point.

Add to that a psychotic nympho best friend, an overbearing father, a cuter than humanly possible kid brother, a wanton womanizing cousin, the ex from hell, and more pies than you could poke a … err … stick … at.

And you thought small towns were boring.

Welcome to Sugartown.

*Content Warning. Intended for a mature 18+ audience. Contains explicit sex, oodles of profanity and a crap-tonne of AWKWARD.

ADD TO GOODREADS

Mandy’s Review

5 out of 5

I am moving to Sugartown! Y’all know that I am not a huge fan of New Adult books. I like my books a little experienced and dirty, but oh hell- this book was really good! And I have added another Aussie to my list to stalk visit if I ever get the chance to head Down Under. Carmen Jenner has written a book that did not follow any stereotypical storyline. It just delivers a great story. The first part of this book is filled with sexy banter and hilarious dialogue.

Once you are thoroughly sucked in and loving the characters- BAM! Shit gets real and the book is a bit of an emotional pit, and yet it’s not.  It’s just really well written. The characters are all really likable and relatable and the drama was believable and not far-fetched in the slightest. The sexy times are super SEXY. The “can’t look but can’t look away” scenes are not overdone and the emotions in the moments were palpable. I was so upset for Ana, and even Elijah. I was really worried that I wouldn’t get the ending that I wanted, but Carmen came through for me. And now I have another fun and sexy series to read.

Seriously, this book had me laughing and squirming, and crying and cringing. Ana’s little brother, Sammy, is just a neat character- and he has some of the funniest lines in the book.  Holly, the best friend, is a total spitfire and I hope we get to see more of her in future Sugartown books. Her chemistry and dysfunction with Jackson could be explosive with Carmen Jenner at the helm!

I had the opportunity to read it long before release, and while I am grateful to be one of the lucky ones- I really want you to read it, too.  So, add it to your to be read lists and get ready for Carmen Jenner and Sugartown. Welcome to Sugartown is expected to be released in early November.

 

Lorraine’s Review

4.5 out of 5

So…this was me for the first 46% of Welcome To Sugartown:  Aww, this is going to be a warm and fuzzy New Adult Romance, with a hot alpha motorcycle man and a kooky pie shop owner.  This was me when I clicked the next page button to 47%: Holy shit, this just got HEAVY.  (Insert picture of me glued to kindle for remainder of story).  I’ve been debating how to do this review, because I did not catch on to where this was going from the synopsis, but I detest spoilers.  In the end I feel it is important to tell you that this got seriously heavy, only because I know there are readers out there that prefer the lighter side of romance.  For those of you who like when things get a little crazy, this is a must-read!  And that is as close to a spoiler as I’m going to get.

Ana and Elijah are almost a little star crossed.  I had moments that I ached for them, hoping that all of the crap storms that got thrown in their way would work out for the best.  There were moments where if I was Ana, I don’t know if I could have forgiven Elijah, and moments where I thought what he did was completely justified and there wasn’t even anything to forgive him for, though I think her reactions were normal girl reactions, especially a girl that has some trust issues.  Personally, I definitely feel what he did was a hot bad boy vengeance move, and it made me what to jump him.

This was a great read from Carmen Jenner.  Honestly, I mostly avoid Australian writing because I really struggle with the slang, but I didn’t notice much in this, and the little there was did not distract me at all.  I’m definitely glad I didn’t pass this one up, and I’m looking forward to what I hope is Ana’s best friend Holly’s story in Enjoy Your Stay.

  ADD TO GOODREADS

AUTHOR LINKS

Website

Twitter

Facebook

6 Comments

Filed under 4 Stars, 5 Stars, ARC, Bikers & MCs, Debut Novels, Indie Authors, Lorraine, Mandy, New Adult, Recommendations, Review, Tattoos & Piercings

6 responses to “Review: Welcome to Sugartown by Carmen Jenner

  1. Thanks for not one but two amazing reviews, my lovelies!!! I’m so glad you both enjoyed the book! And yes, book two will be Holly and Jackson’s story!!! Horray! 🙂

  2. Pingback: NEW Cover Reveal: Welcome to Sugartown by Carmen Jenner | Raw Books

  3. Pingback: Blog Tour: Welcome to Sugartown by Carmen Jenner | Raw Books

  4. Pingback: Blog Tour: Welcome to Sugartown by Carmen Jenner | My Website

  5. Pingback: Blog Tour: Welcome to Sugartown by Carmen Jenner -

Thoughts, opinions, recommendations?

