Blog Tour- Review: Man of My Dreams by Faith Andrews

Man of my Dreams by Faith Andrews ebooklg

Title: Man of My Dreams

Author: Faith Andrews

Release Date: September 19, 2013

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Add to GoodReads:

http://tiny.cc/24p63w

Hosted by:

Love Between the Sheets

heartdividerPost

Synopsis

Mia Murphy may be married to the man of her dreams. But the man in her dreams is the one that got away—her high school crush.

Mia’s stuck in a rut, just like every other stay-at-home mom, and the only thing saving her from her monotonous routine is her perfect husband, Declan. He’s gorgeous, he adores her, and the man stole her heart with his sexy singing voice. Mia feels like the luckiest girl in the world, until she discovers that Mr. Perfect is not Mr. Faithful. Mia is devastated. Everything she once believed about Declan and their marriage is now covered in a big cloud of doubt and regret. On impulse, she kicks the cheating bastard out, pushing them into a separation that could mean the end of the picture-perfect couple.

But when Mia receives an invitation to her high school reunion, she finds herself abandoning the present for the oh-so alluring pull of the past. Although her heart still belongs to her husband, inescapable thoughts of her crush, Noah, resurface. And ten years later, Noah isn’t afraid to make his move. When the build-up of fantasies and ‘what ifs’ comes to a head, sparks fly and it’s Mia’s turn to question if her marriage is everything she wants out of life. Searching for answers, Mia dives head first into dating Noah, falling further away from her husband and closer to her old flame.

But Declan’s not giving up so easily. Mia is his one and only and he’s not about to let another man win her heart.

heartdividerPost

Purchase Links

Amazon US –

http://amzn.com/B00FA2H7LI

 

heartdividerPost

About the Author

7133062

Faith Andrews lives in New York where she is happily married to her high school sweetheart. They have two beautiful daughters and a furry Yorkie son, Rocco. If she isn’t listening to Mumford and Sons or busy being a Dance Mom, her nose is in a book or her laptop. She’s a sucker for a happily ever after and believes her characters are out there living one somewhere . . .

heartdividerPost

Connect with Faith

Facebook | GoodReads | Twitter | Website

heartdividerPost

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Excerpt

My face is pressed up against a pillow, strands of long golden hair splayed out across the smooth, silken sheets. His hands reach underneath me to grope my breasts, his fingers bringing my nipples to beaded peaks.

“Please, baby. I can’t wait any longer,” I beg.

His tight erection skims the cheeks of my ass and then, with one quick tilt on my behalf, the long hardness nestles between my silky moist folds. My body instinctively opens for him, allowing his entrance and I moan with gratitude as he guides his way inside.

I clutch fistfuls of sateen sheets, stifling moans with the pillow. I know I need to be quiet, so I whisper his name. “Noah…it’s so good, baby.”

Unexpectedly, the sensation is gone and I lift my head to look over my shoulder, bewildered, before I let out a satisfying gasp. His mouth has taken over and the wetness of his tongue on my equally wet flesh is pure ecstasy. His slick movements are erratic, alternating between sweet, gentle suction and rampant, greedy licking. His expert-like ministrations cause an earth-shattering ripple to shudder throughout my body.  I revert back to grabbing the sheets as the intense tremors build even more, coiling deep within.

His tongue teases and then stiffens, breaching into me, unraveling the last of me. I pant into the pillow, replete, satisfied, on cloud nine and then I hear the laughter.

“Good morning, babe.”

It takes a second to register that the voice coming from between my legs isn’t Noah’s, but my husband’s. Oh my God, not again. Thank God, I never screamed out his name.

Or did I?

“Declan, what the hell are you doing?” I spin around, landing on my back and pull the covers over me.

“Giving you the wake-up call you deserve,” he replies, licking his lips.

“Are you nuts? What time is it? The girls could have….”

“Don’t worry about the girls. They’re both still sound asleep. Me on the other hand, I’m wide awake.” He wiggles his eyebrows up and down and points to the massive erection that’s created a tent in his flannel pajama bottoms.

I pull him up to me and he collapses on his pillow, next to mine. “I can’t believe you did that while I was still sleeping. What the hell gave you that –wait, have you been snooping through my romance novels again?”

Declan can’t contain his laughter. I slap a hand across his mouth, shushing him. “Shh! Let them sleep.” I nibble his ear, inching my hand into his PJs. “You started it, now let me finish it.”

Lorraine’s Review

Rating 4 out of 5

So, I totally get the whole not glorifying cheating thing in the romance genre of books.  Man of My Dreams is a perfect example of why you can’t assume that every book that has cheating in the synopsis is going to glorify it.

Faith Andrews did a phenomenal job with this story.  She perfectly captured what happens to a family when a spouse cheats.  If I had a spouse who cheated on me, this is EXACTLY how I would feel and react.  The raw emotion portrayed as this family’s lives were torn apart by one moment, one mistake, and then the roller coaster of ups and downs as they try to piece it all back together.

I completely sympathized with Mia throughout, and I struggled the whole time wanting to believe her husband Declan was a total dirtbag.  Then, just when I was convinced of it, I could totally see why Mia fell in love with him, and would start rooting for him to win her back.  I think I kinda fell in love with him a little.  Enter Noah:  Yeah, fell in love with him too, and I was rooting for him to win Mia the other half of the book.  Not going to tell you which direction she goes, but I melted at the ending of this story.

On to the writing.  A lot of flashbacks, and for the most part it enriched the story.  There was some cheesy stuff in the flashbacks that made me cringe a little, but the characters are in my age group, so I don’t know if I was cringing from the story, or if I was cringing from the fact that some of it was shit I remember in high school and college.  Since it didn’t make me want to put the book down, I’m guessing it was me, at least mostly.  While I loved the use of parallels between the past and the present, I did feel at times it was a little too obvious and occasionally cliché-ish (yes, I know that is not a real word).

Overall, I feel very strongly that this is worth reading.  I also really hope that Faith Andrews is working on more books and is going to use the side characters in Man of My Dreams to make this a series.

Mary’s Review

Rating 4 out of 5

Here I am again, a guest reviewer for RAW Books, so here is my review.

Man of my Dreams by Faith Andrews is a really good story but there seemed to be something missing for me. It is emotionally charged as we follow Mia through her life. Along with her best friend, Grace. Mia goes to the local high school while Grace goes to private school. On the first day as a high school student, Mia sees the gorgeous jock Noah Matheson and she is going to make him hers, somehow!
 In high school who hasn’t been in love or at least lusted after the jock. Well the jock for Mia is Noah and she has wanted him to notice her for four long years and he seems to not be interested. While at the last party before graduation, Mia is manning the door and Noah walks in and calls her beautiful, does this mean he has noticed her? Not really because as the party comes to an end, Noah is nowhere to be found. So there goes her first kiss and letting him know she is alive.
So off to college she goes and meets Declan Murphy. He is gorgeous and notices her right off. He wants to know her and ask her out. They date for a while and head home one weekend to meet the parents. The Friday night before Declan is to arrive, Mia and Grace go to The Room, the local hangout, and Noah shows up and the old feelings resurface. He tells her that he noticed her back in high school and if things don’t work out with the boyfriend, to give him a call. She knows she loves Declan, but what is it about Noah that has her all tied up in knots. Is it possible to love two men at the same time?
Favorite quote:

“I want to trust myself or the sensible part of me that is committed to Declan. But holy heart failure Batman, its Noah Matheson! I never got closure. Hell, I never got an opening! This is absurd.”

There is a lot of emotions going on and I really liked how the author went back in the past to help us catch up to the present. And also giving Declan’s POV. The roller coaster ride we take with Mia is heart breaking; you can feel her pain, love, hurt, confusion, lust all through the story. How does one move on when the love of your life and father to your children has cheated? Mia tries to sort things out in her head and it just keeps getting harder. After weeks apart, she wants Declan back home and he has a bomb to drop, he is going to Hong Kong for work. While he is gone Mia goes to her 10 year high school reunion. Yes she is looking and hoping to see Noah.
After spending a little time with Noah, Mia’s heart is not sure what is going on. A love triangle that can tear three people apart. I really liked the ending; it made it better for me.
I have not figured out what was missing for me, I guess I will have to read it at another time. It didn’t keep me glued to the story as I had hoped from reading the synopsis.  This is a debut novel for Faith Andrews and I will be looking forward to reading more from her. I give it 4 stars!
manof my dreams
1 Comment

Filed under 4 Stars, ARC, Blog Tour, Contemporary, Debut Novels, Indie Authors, Review

One response to “Blog Tour- Review: Man of My Dreams by Faith Andrews

  1. faithandrews

    Reblogged this on Faith Andrews and commented:
    Day one of the blog tour and I’m stopping at Raw Books! Check out their awesome review of Man of My Dreams.

    Thank you Lorraine and Mary!!

Thoughts, opinions, recommendations?

