Review: Exploration by Peyton Sloane

explorationSynopsis:

Being with the same man since she was 18, 26 year old widow Jazz Mickelson is hoping to catch up on all the life experiences that could have been hers had she not leapt into a committed relationship so young.

Julian St. Sauveur is looking for three things: romance, comfort and trust. He mistakenly thought he had them once many years ago. He sees potential for him and Jazz but knows it is too soon for her.
Will she accept his unusual proposition, one that allows him to hold on to her while she catches up on life?…and will she choose him after experiencing all the wonders that await her?
Find out as Jazz and Julian explore their potential…

Danielle’s Review

Rating: 3/5

First and foremost, I am honored to have been asked to review this novel. I received a copy in exchange for my honest review. Exploration is Peyton Sloane’s debut novel, and the first in, “The Potential” series.

That being said, I have to be honest; I loved and hated this book. There were moments where I was so captivated, so enthralled by the imagery, and then it fall flat. (Just like that sentence!) The characters, Julian and Jazz, have a wonderful dynamic and I truly love the confidence and self-worth Jazz gains throughout the novel. The way her self-growth is encouraged, and by whom, is refreshing. Julian is a beautiful character as well, so strong and self assured, without being a pompous ass. But the dialogue between them seemed too formal and stuffy for their relationship. It lacked a natural flow and playfulness. Which I feel is mostly due to a lack of confidence.  Ms. Sloane has in her the ability to write. There were often times I had to force the dialogue through my mind, causing me to frequently reread whole pages.  Now, please don’t get wrong. I like this book and once it’s been edited, I will love this book. Ms. Sloane just needs to realize her own potential.

And Oh. My. GOSSSSHHH!!

Can this girl write a love scene, and I say love, because that’s what it was. It was hot, but it also touched deep. Every interaction between them no matter how dirty (and it gets dirty), or seemingly insignificant, the raw emotions were present. Ms. Sloane can make hot-kinky-love with words. But, I am not going to lie; I cannot believe how she left off their first time. I wanted to stop reading the book right there. I was so excited, and then I wanted to throw my iPad across the room. I cannot believe she did not include the details of their first encounter, after all that build up! Bitch, left me with literary blue-balls! Thankfully, I kept going, because once she finally gave me the glorious details, it was incredible. I love the correlation between sex and feminine power, and I love that the hero ignites that in her. I cannot wait for their continuation in the next novel of the series. The ‘potential’ of their relationship will hopefully be three times the fun.

Stay Raw

❤ dg

You can find Peyton Sloane on Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

Exploration can be found on Goodreads | Smashwords | Amazon

2 Comments

Filed under 3 Stars, Alpha Men, ARC, Debut Novels, Dirty Books, Indie Authors, New Adult, NSFW, Review, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Review: Exploration by Peyton Sloane

  1. Thank-u so much 4 yr kind words & thrilled u liked it…& yes this is also me realizing my potential.

  2. rawbookschick

    Thank you so much!

Thoughts, opinions, recommendations?

