Review of Collide & Pulse by Gail McHugh

collide

 

Synopsis of Collide

 

A missed first encounter…
Colliding with a second chance…

On the heels of graduating college and trying to cope with her mother’s death, Emily Cooper moves to New York City for a fresh start.

While harboring secrets of his own, Dillon Parker takes care of Emily through her grief. Knowing he can’t live without her by his side, he’s sweet, thoughtful, and everything Emily has ever wanted in a man.

Until she meets Gavin Blake—a rich and notorious playboy who is dangerously sexy and charming as hell. Emily tries to deny the instant connection she feels, but Mr. Tall, Dark, and Handsome is not inclined to let go so easily. Recovering from his own painful past, Gavin will stop at nothing to win Emily over.

This unexpected encounter compels Emily to question her decisions, forcing her to make a choice that will destroy friendships, shatter hearts, and forever change her life.

 

No synopsis of Pulse as I don’t want to give too much away to unsuspecting readers. 

 

Mandy’s Review

Rating 5 out of 5

 

Let me tell you a story about why you should always listen to your mother.  A few weeks back while getting ready to attend Book Bash, I asked my mom if there were any authors that she wanted me to see for her that I might not have on my own list.  Her reply, “Go see Gail McHugh and get me a bottle cap magnet!”  I don’t remember my exact response to my loving mother, but I do remember that I thought she was a little nuts. Fast forward to Book Bash and me at Gail’s table apologizing for not reading her book and explaining that my mom asked me to come see her and get a magnet.  Gail was lovely.  She signed the book that I, being the FAVORITE daughter (Hi Sis!), bought for my mom and wrote a lovely inscription.  I told her that I would certainly add her book to my TBR and that was that. Or so I thought.

 

Fast forward again, and the Internets are screaming about some book called Pulse and I am lost until I remember that I said I would read the first one. So I sat myself down and read both Collide and Pulse in less than 36 hours while mothering children, doing laundry and blah, blah, blah.

 

They were amazing! Collide was so angsty and my heart was pulled toward Gavin right from the start. Emily’s character was so torn and it was killing me to see things with Dillon progressing the way that they were and she was going to marry him! I kept screaming at my Kindle, “How could you do this to Gavin?!!!”  Emily kept denying what was right in front of her. And Dillon was a creep to the nth degree. And the friends were all stuck in the middle.  I understood Emily’s hesitation in admitting her attraction to Gavin and I understood her loyalty to Dillon after everything he had done for her after her mother passed. But if I was her friend and I was witnessing the ‘shmexiness’ that was exploding around Gavin and Emily and the toxic other happenings; I would shove them together and refuse to allow them free until fate intervened. (I bet y’all are scrambling to friend request me now, huh?)

 

These books are beautifully written.  The characters are very real. The drama was real.  Friends get put in the middle of an awkward situation, but Gail’s words let the sympathy, the hurt, the anger, and the love shine through and as a reader I was jealous that I don’t have such a tight knit group of peeps to turn to.  Olivia was a fantastic supporting character whose dialogue added the needed funny injection to some tough stuff. And oh boy, can Gail McHugh can write a love scene!  And note, I said love scene because even when there isn’t any sex involved; Gail’s words make the love and sensuality ooze from the pages (er, screen?).  Collide was just so good. And then it ended and I gasped and wondered how in the hell the rest of the world read this book and then waited for the sequel.

 

I immediately started Pulse. I had to. It was a moral imperative at this point.  And Pulse did not disappoint.  And Gail politely did not make me wait too long to get what I wanted and then another bomb dropped and my heart was just crushed for Gavin.  But Gavin is shmexy and he’s Mr. Tall, Dark, and Fuckable Handsome so he reacted the way I expect my book boyfriends to react.  And then there was Dillon.  My God, I wanted to punch him and hurt him and possibly kill him just as much as Gavin did.  What a Dillhole!   I was so anxious waiting for the “big news” and thoroughly enjoying the delicious chemistry between Emily and Gavin, and then Dilly the small Willy would be on the next page and I would just want to hurl.

 

But in the end, Gail McHugh came through and delivered a conclusion that was so worth it!  I will never look at bottlecaps or the Yankees in the same way. And this concludes my story as to why you should always listen to your mother. (I can be such a wiseass! Wink, wink.)

 

Thanks Mom for making me read these books!  You were right. (I’m still the favorite, yeah?)

 

How to find Gail & her Awesomesauce ( aka Collide & Pulse)

 

Gail can be found on Goodreads Author Page | Facebook | Website | Twitter

 

Collide can be found on Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

 

Pulse can be found on Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Review of Collide & Pulse by Gail McHugh

  1. Gail

    Thank you for reading!! Such a beautiful review! I appreciate it! xoxo

  2. Pingback: “Sometimes bad choices bring us to the right people, Emily.” Collide, by Gail McHugh | Curious Kindle Reader

  3. Pingback: Curious Kindle Reader

Thoughts, opinions, recommendations?

